A Hero’s Journey…

Okay, blog number one, today I am embarking on a journey, I’d like to call it a ‘hero’s journey’.  For the past few weeks I’ve been taking a novel writing class at my beloved University of Washington (go DAWGS)… While I would love to be the next JK Rowling, I know how rare a talent like that is, and for now I’m just enjoying the learning and camaraderie.  

One of the reasons I’d like to be a writer is because I love a good story, be it in movies or tv, books or video games (yes there are some great stories in video games these days), or the like – I appreciate all different types, and love the satisfaction you feel when you get to the end of a show, book, game and it has a great conclusion. 

To prepare for this writing class and the upcoming NanoWriMo (in November…more on that later) I’ve been trying to read all sorts of different books and genres (in July so far I’ve read 5 different books ranging from mystery, comedy, sci-fi (with comedy!), and futuristic fairy tale).  While perusing some of the writing sites we’re learning about in class I found a challenge that I am going to undertake, and perhaps write about it along the way. 

I, Kathy Richardson, am going to read 52 books in 52 weeks.  I just started reading The Cuckoo’s Calling by  Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling).  I was on a roll prior to writing this commitment out… let’s see how I do now that I’ve proclaimed this mission to my readership of none.  🙂

2 responses to “A Hero’s Journey…

  1. Peggy J. Minnich

    Your blog came through loud and clear. I feel very lucky to be included. I will try to read 52 books in 52 weeks as well however since I read sometimes three books (at the moment I am actually reading 3) I am not sure how this will work for me. Mommy

    • thank you mommy! Glad you found it! I wrote a post for 30 minutes and then ‘thought’ I posted it… went away from the PC for a few hours and came back and it was gone. So exasperated! Luckily it was still in ‘edit’ mode I hadn’t hit the publish button yet! phew! 🙂

Leave a Reply

