52 of 52 update: The Bone Season Review

This week I spend some time in Germany, and with my wacked out sleeping schedule I had time to start and finish Samantha Shannon’s debut novel “The Bone Season” I’ve posted my review on Good Reads and will repost it here. I gave it 4 stars, only because I had to really get used to the new dialog and her ‘London’ and personally stop comparing her to JK Rowling.

I’ll admit, when I saw the words “the next JK Rowling” written in an early summer pre-review I immediately pre-ordered this book. After finishing the pretty awful last Sookie Stackhouse book I was ready to launch into something great.

I wasn’t disappointed. This 21 year old author (who is STILL in university according to her bio) is quite a story teller. She creates a crazy dark world where ‘voyants’ (individuals with different types of clairvoyant talents) run the underground. The author quickly turns this new world and her heroine upside down into an even CRAZIER dark world. I am curious to know whether this should be considered Young Adult or just regular old adult. It is a pretty dark story, with death, slavery, and brutal treatment of humans that makes me think it might be on the cusp of not being YA.

Due to all of the references to JK Rowling, I couldn’t help comparing the two for the first 1/3 of the book thinking that this new gal didn’t really measure up. And while her world isn’t nearly as charming as Hogwarts with its witches and muggles, she definitely hits her stride pretty quickly, and allows you to immerse into Scion (her made up London world).

Two things of note 1) there is a glossary in the back (reading on a Kindle sort of ruins using something like that – though it would have been super useful throughout with all the terms she makes up throughout the book) and 2) this is the first of 7 (!!) planned books and I’m no good at waiting. Let’s hope she writes quickly like JK, not slowly like George RR.

Enjoy!

Plus – an update on my 52 in 52. Read two books while in Germany. Finished the awful last Sookie Stackhouse, and the delightful Bone Season taking me new total to:

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Kathy has
read 27 books toward her goal of 52 books.
hide

next up City of Bones (the first in the Mortal Instruments series) as recommended by some colleagues and furthering my readership of popular YA fiction.

Leave a Reply

