Oddie and his band of merry men help me get to 31 of 52!

2013 Reading Challenge

2013 Reading Challenge
Kathy has
read 31 books toward her goal of 52 books.
hide

 

Finished Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz this morning. 31 books read on the road to reading 52 this year. Actually wanted to finish so badly was slightly later to work than normal (though we don’t have ‘hours’ so it doesn’t really matter). This book was a strong recommendation from my husband, but I put off reading it for years because I thought the genre was one I wouldn’t like. I really liked it. I didn’t give it 5 of 5 stars only because there were a couple of things in the book that were head scratchers and I want the series to have time to grow.

Not sure if this below part contains spoilers or not – so read on at your own risk.  🙂

This is my first Dean Koontz novel. I usually don’t read horror and for some reason I thought this would be horror. It certainly had some scary moments that were nail biters, and then some gruesome moments (e.g. finding the trophies in the freezer) – but the humor and character development was so rich and enticing that you forgot about those bits quickly after reading them. I loved the character Odd. He was fearless, which helped me as the (sometimes) timid reader be fearless as well. I would categorize this more as a thriller than horror. But perhaps after watching the first season of that creepy show American Horror Story nothing seems like horror anymore.

Near the end there were a couple of doozy twists that I was not expecting which always makes me happy when reading a book too (though one of the twists had me bawling – thanks husband for the recco! sheesh).

I’ve already downloaded the next one and am happy to have ‘discovered’ this series to give me something to read as a go to when I have a hole in the book lineup. Going to take a break for now though – that ending was hard hitting and I need to recover. phew!

Up next?  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.  I fly to Tokyo on Monday so will have ample time to read a few books (11.5  hours there and 8.5 hours back yeesh).  But do feel I need to make up some nice ground on this challenge before my novel writing and anthropology class start up later this month and next.

Leave a Reply

