Rip Van Winkle has nothing on me!

Hello Readers (aka Mom…)

When we last spoke I expressed that something in my busy fall schedule needed to give. I was working, traveling, writing, blogging, going to a writing class, taking an online anthro class, and trying to read 52 books in 52 weeks (and doing this crazy diet contest with a bunch of people, but that is another story).  I thought that I would be okay just giving up the Anthro class (was a free online course so not really a huge deal if I deferred for a bit).

I ended up being laser focused on work, travel, writing class, dieting and reading. I dropped the anthro class and the blogging, and sadly didn’t quite make 52 in 52  – though read a lot of great books last year (read 48 books I think – which is pretty good considering I started in June tracking my books!).

Now we’re in 2014 and I’ve just passed a milestone birthday (not one with a 0 at the end, but a 5, which is almost as impactful when you’re filling out surveys and the like – I’m not in a new category, blech.) and thinking I need to get BACK into the blogging aspect of the above goals.

The goals of course have been modified slightly this year – yup, I’m a resolution kind of gal (I like goals and deadlines… work better under pressure).  So here they are for all to see (and heck it’s the first day of A month, just not the month – so it’s almost like you’ve been with me the whole time).

1) Read a lot (achieve 52 in 52 this year – no excuses)

2) Keep writing (I am in class until June so that will help.  I’ve also entered a writing contest – yep. that’s write…er right, this shit just got real sort of – more on that later too) & try to keep up on this blog business, if only to work through exercises and keep track of the books I’m reading.

3) Keep on that healthy track.  The diet contest is every other month, which is GREAT during the month, but v. binge worthy when not in the contest.  More on that later

4) De-clutter – always a goal.  Mine this year was the office and closet spaces.  Paul has the kitchen and garage (God help him, we’re Hoarders contestants in there).

5) Couple other financial goals but you don’t need to know those – needless, they’re lofty but attainable with some dedication (and avoidance of Zappos.com).  🙂

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
Kathy has
read 9 books toward her goal of 52 books.
hide
Leave a Reply

